Hissar Kapia – The Gate of the Fortress

IMG_2981
I made this needlepoint work by request of my daughter who lives in the USA. She wanted some Bulgarian old houses to remind her of her native country. Hissar Kapia is a symbol of Plovdiv, Bulgaria.
Here is photo I took at Hissar Kapia last week – for you to match the canvas with the actual historical site.
IMG_3280a
The gate exists on this place from deep antiquity. Below the level of the street pavement are located the old foundations, dating back from Roman times /2nd century/ and a remake from 12th-14th centuries. During the Renaissance the gate was reconstructed and was saved from collapse.
More Ruby Tuesday Picks here
More of My Embroidery hereIMG_2981a

17 Коментари to “Hissar Kapia – The Gate of the Fortress”

  1. Carletta Says:

    You do beautiful work!!

  2. Filipina Blogger Says:

    Wow very nice…I miss cross stitching!

  3. VioletSky Says:

    What beautiful architecture.
    What a lot of work in that piece.
    I like your version – no cars!

  4. Miranda Says:

    Beautiful job! Very nice work.

  5. Pagan Sphinx Says:

    You are very talented. That turned out great! And to have created it using a photograph. Amazing. I love that quaint scene!

  6. Stephanie V Says:

    That is very beautiful. You have a very good eye for detail and color.

  7. magicalmysticalteacher Says:

    In the ancient streets
    lovers stroll and children play
    just like yesterday…

    My Mellow Yellow

  8. Heidi Says:

    I am soooo impressed! What a work of art you have created. I don’t think I would ever have the patience to sit and cross stitch that. Not that I can even cross stitch all that well. What a fantastic ruby tuesday!
    If you’d like to stop by my blog I’m at Cake Crumbs.

  9. Martha at A Sense of Humor is Essential Says:

    Beautiful, you are very talented. That is a lovely scene, thanks for sharing and Happy R.T.

  10. Stephanie V Says:

    Thank you for your visit yesterday.

  11. ROCIO Says:

    ☼¨`*•.♥Awesome shots!♥.•*¨`☼
    Thanks for sharing!
    Have a Lovely♥Day!
    To view my Ruby Tuesday you can visit my kiddos blog @
    http://www.365daysofourlife.com
    See ya!☺!

  12. Becca Says:

    OMG that is amazing! Do you do this for a living? I am extremely impressed! 🙂

  13. Robin from Israel Says:

    You designed that needlepoint? That is amazing! It looks just like the street scene. You do beautiful work.

  14. marian edwards Says:

    i love those old buildings..your needlework is stunning 🙂

  15. Cookie Says:

    lovely work..and so tedious 😀

    my RT is HERE

  16. Dimple Says:

    Lovely.

  17. Eileen Says:

    Unique photos! Very nice!

Вашият коментар

