Holy Virgin

IMG_3553
Just finished this needlepoint Byzantine Icon. The original is wood with silver incrustation and precious stones. The colors are kind of sepia with a touch of blue and yellow – hope it qualifies.
More Sepia Scenes photos here
Below is the straighten canvas.

IMG_3553a

6 Коментари to “Holy Virgin”

  1. Carletta Says:

    Stunning work!
    Love the touches of color with the sepia as your main focal point.

  2. Ralph Says:

    The sepia really enhances this work of needlepoint art. The mother gives the look of love and adoration to the Lord child. Nice edits of a beautiful subject!

  3. annie Says:

    Dear Nadine,

    I’ve always admired the patience that many women are able to bring to this art. I cannot count myself among you. This particular needlepoint moved me deeply. Not only is it of Our Lady but its eastern origins recall to me the many beautiful experiences I have had at Eastern Rite Catholic Masses. Your browns and sepias here with the touches of blue and gold are awe-inspiring.

    All my best,
    Annie

  4. Kaye Says:

    very pretty. If you want to wander down my road I’m home.

  5. Heidi Says:

    Totally impressed! I can’t even imagine doing something so tedious. I love it!
    If you’d like to stop by my blog I’m at Cake Crumbs.

  6. Greensboro Daily Photo Says:

    Your embroidery is simply breathtaking. How long does it take to finish one? How do you decide what to do next?

Вашият коментар

